UNESCO World Heritage Sites — Caribbean & other islands

UNESCO, an arm of the United Nations, has established a list of the World Heritage Sites, the Earth’s most significant places, based on historical, cultural, and aesthetic considerations. These places should be preserved so that all mankind can appreciate their legacy, their significance, and their beauty.

Besides the islands mentioned earlier as part of a country, there are island-nations around the world that possess the types of buildings, natural beauty, or other attractions worthy of World Heritage Site designation.

Historic Bridgetown, Barbados — The capital of this most0-easterly Caribbean island preserves the ambiance of a typical British colony in the New World.

Bridgetown Parliament

Belize Barrier Reef Reserve System — The second largest barrier reef in the world is the diving Mecca in this small Central American country.

Ambergris Caye, Belize

Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Dominica — This lovely, idyllic, natural area has lush vegetation and numerous waterfalls.

Waterfall in Morne Trois Piton National Park

Pitons Management Area, St Lucia — The Pitons are the single most recognizable landmark in the Caribbean Sea because they appear on so many postcards and brochures of cruise ship companies and travel agencies.

Pitons, St Lucia

This entry was posted in World Heritage Sites and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.