UNESCO World Heritage Sites — Israel

UNESCO, an arm of the United Nations, has established a list of the World Heritage Sites, the Earth’s most significant places, based on historical, cultural, and aesthetic considerations. These places should be preserved so that all mankind can appreciate their legacy, their significance, and their beauty.

The fairly new (1948) nation of Israel, at this time, has only four (4) World Heritage Sites, of which I have seen three.

Masada — The mass suicide of 1,000 Jewish rebels in a palace built by Herod, near the Dead Sea, is a symbol to Jews all over the world that persecution should be resisted and avoided at all costs.


Old City of Jerusalem (site proposed by Jordan and not Israel) — Jerusalem is a fascinating city. It is the nexus of three of the world’s great religions: one of Judaism most sacred sites is the Western (Wailing) Wall

Western Wall

Islamics see the Dome of the Rock as a spiritual center of their religion as well

Dome of the Rock

Christians make pilgrimages to Jerusalem to see the places that Christ walked and to worship at the church built over the spot that he was crucified.

Church of the Holy Sepulcher

White City of Tel Aviv — Tel Aviv is a modern city on the Mediterranean shore. For UNESCO the fascination and importance of the city is its significant number of Bauhaus buildings.

Tel Aviv

Bahai Palace and Gardens — The Bahai religion seeks to unite the major world religions into a single faith. The movement is centered in the city of Haifa, just north of Tel Aviv, with headquarters and its fabulous grounds leading from sea level into the hills of the city.

Bahai Temple and Gardens

This entry was posted in World Heritage Sites and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.