World Cities at 35 Degrees North Latitude

Latitude lines are the parallels which cut across the Earth traveling north and south from the Equator. Because it is latitude which determines temperature and climate, the Earth is divided into three (3) zones, the Tropics, the Temperate Zone, and the Polar regions. The Tropics are defined as the area between 23 1/2 degrees North Latitude and 23 1/2 degrees South Latitude. The temperatures here are always warm and there are no seasons. The Temperate Zone extends both north and south from 23 1/2 degrees to 66 1/2 degrees — this is where most of the world’s population lives. Seasonal changes are noticeable across the year and differences in the amount of rainfall create a number of significantly distinct biomes. Polar regions are relatively cold throughout the year.

It is interesting to seeĀ which cities are on the same latitude. Often they have significantly different climates despite their similar distances from the Equator.

There are certainly some very different weather associated with this group of cities.

Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA — The desert southwest is the milieu here with extremely hot and dry summers and moderate temperatures at other times.

St Philip Neri Church

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA — This city is located in the plains of the American Midwest and is subject to tornadoes and other extreme weather.

National Oklahoma City Memorial

Xi’an, China — This ancient capital of China is in the north-central interior of the country. It was the beginning of the Silk Route in Medieval times.

Xi’an Walls and Tower

Tokyo, Japan — With a climate moderated by proximity to the Pacific Ocean, Tokyo is nevertheless subject to earthquakes and tsunamis from time to time.

Sensoji Temple

This entry was posted in Around the World and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.