World Cities at 55 Degrees North Latitude

Latitude lines are the parallels which cut across the Earth traveling north and south from the Equator. Because it is latitude which determines temperature and climate, the Earth is divided into three (3) zones, the Tropics, the Temperate Zone, and the Polar regions. The Tropics are defined as the area between 23 1/2 degrees North Latitude and 23 1/2 degrees South Latitude. The temperatures here are always warm and there are no seasons. The Temperate Zone extends both north and south from 23 1/2 degrees to 66 1/2 degrees — this is where most of the world’s population lives. Seasonal changes are noticeable across the year and differences in the amount of rainfall create a number of significantly distinct biomes. Polar regions are relatively cold throughout the year.

It is interesting to seeĀ which cities are at the same latitude. Often they have significantly different climates despite their similar distances from the Equator.

This collection of cities is extremely far to the north and should expect icy cold winters and cool summers.

Ketchikan, Alaska, USA — This delightful city on the Inside Passage survives mainly on tourism generated by popular Alaskan cruises.


Edinburgh, Scotland — The delightful city of Edinburgh features a formidable castle and an elegant palace at either end of the Royal Mile, its main tourist street.

Palace at Holyroodhouse

Other major cities at this latitude include Copenhagen, Denmark, and Moscow, Russia

This entry was posted in Around the World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.